top of page



Duff Thompson’s dark, alienated, and swaggering, "Shadow People" is the first of a duology of albums recorded during a late summer Montreal heatwave in 2021. Created over two weeks of intensive recording, "Shadow People" comprises 10 of the 19 tracks captured during these sessions, with Shadow People II featuring the remaining 9 tracks.


Thompson rented out the studio space at Sud-Ouest Recording Service and produced and engineered the album himself, bringing along with him a 16-track reel-to-reel and songwriter/musicians Steph Green and Kyle Taylor as his backing band and assistant engineers. The album also features contributions from Mat Davidson (Twain) on strings, pedal steel, and bass clarinet. Whereas Thompson’s debut album, "Haywire" showcased his versatility and folk influences, "Shadow People" is a more cohesive collection of songs that push his music further into the world of garage and indie rock.

Release date: October 27th, 2023


1. Just Like Me

2. Bring it to You

3. Shapeshifter

4. Throw it Down

5. Throw it Down II

6.  A Little Time

7. A Long Time

8. Up and Go

9. Pale Horse

10. For a Moment


Duff Thompson - Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Piano, Drums (1), Strings (3), Lap Steel (4), Harmonica (5)

Steph Green - Drums (2), Lap Steel (7), Pump Organ (4,5,7,9,10), Backing Vocals (4,5,8,10)

Kyle Taylor - Drums (4,5,7,9,10)

Mat Davidson - Pedal Steel (3), Strings (6), Bass Clarinet (9)


Written, Produced, Engineered, Mixed, and Mastered by Duff Thompson

Assistant Engineering by Steph Green and Kyle Taylor

Additional Production by Steph Green

Recorded at Sud-Ouest Recording Service in Montreal, Quebec

Album Photos and Design by Minnie Heart and Bill Howard


clay-thompson1 copy(3).png
bottom of page