top of page



"Shadow People II" is the louder, heavier, second half of a duology of albums by Duff Thompson (the first being, "Shadow People" -- released October 27, 2023). Created over two weeks of intensive recording in Montreal, the "Shadow People" series comprise 19 total tracks split across two albums. Showcasing the warmth and timelessness of acoustic instruments like piano and pump organ with the grimier side of mid-fi garage rock production -- loud drums, distorted guitars, blown-out vocals, and plenty of reverb -- the recordings were engineered and produced by Thompson himself, joined by long-time collaborator Steph Green, and Kyle Taylor, as his backing band and assistant engineers. "Shadow People II" sees Thompson's emotionally complex and affecting songwriting explore themes of alienation, isolation, and stagnation. Interestingly and despite this, these are not depressing songs. A theme that also emerges recurrently is the way in which love can be a life raft in what could otherwise be a hopeless sea of meaninglessness. As much as one might feel like an outsider, you can be at peace if you've got the right person right there being outside of it all with you.

Release date: June 21, 2024


1. It's Good

2. Stranger

3. Swoop My Way

4. Girls

5. Fog II

6.  Echo

7. You Don't Know

8. More Than You'll Ever Know

9. On Your Own


Duff Thompson - Vocals, Rhythm and Lead Guitars, Bass, Drums (7), Percussion (8), Piano (1-4, 9), Pump Organ (7,8), Synth, Glockenspiel

Steph Green - Pump Organ (1-6, 9), Additional percussion (2), Backing Vocals (1,3,4,5,9)

Kyle Taylor - Drums (1-6, 9), Additional percussion (2), Piano (6), Backing Vocals (3)


Written, Produced, Engineered, Mixed, and Mastered by Duff Thompson

Assistant Engineering by Steph Green and Kyle Taylor

Additional Production by Steph Green

Recorded at Sud-Ouest Recording Service in Montreal, Quebec

Album Photos and Design by Minnie Heart and Bill Howard


No NarvesB&W.png
bottom of page